Why wouldn’t you go?

“When Christ calls a man, he bids him come and die.”
Dietrich Bonhoeffer

One of the big things that has been on my mind for the past month is the very real possibility of going into long term mission work to reach the unreached. What has been pushing this is the question of why not? Because I don’t see any reason not to go.
So often in the West, particularly here in Sydney, we have a view that you can do you over there and I’ll do me over here, and so long as we don’t interfere with one another, we’ll be good. But this is not the call of the Christian!
In Matthew 28:18-20 Jesus says to his disciples, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”
Jesus calls us, as his disciples, to be disciple-making disciples. To be a disciple is to go out into the world and tell others the good news of Christ.
We are called to take up our cross daily and die to ourselves so that Christ may be proclaimed.
So, why wouldn’t you go? What’s stopping you?

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

A better man

Now my debt is paid. It is paid in full. By the precious blood that my Jesus spilled. Now the curse of sin has no hold on me. Whom the Son sets free, oh, is free indeed! –Man of Sorrows, Hillsong Worship Many times in my life, and I’m... Continue →