Why I write

“I write to because it’s the easiest way to escape the prison of my own consciousness.” – John Green

I live a fairly quiet life. I don’t hang with huge amounts of people very often. I only see people at uni or church. But i enjoy it. I struggle through but I enjoy it.
There are so many authors, so many quotes, that I could have put at the start of this post. I chose that one because I heard it today.
I write from what I take in. I see, hear, watch, partake in things and then put them down on paper.
The why of my writing is harder to explain. I write because I love it. But it’s not an escape of my consciousness. It’s an exploration of it. I can’t remember exactly when I started writing. When I was battling with depression, I doodled and journalled and kept a notebook on me nearly the whole time.
Then sometime towards the end of last year, I started writing not just notes or small thoughts. I wrote huge pieces.
I write because it is a gift I have been given. And I praise God for giving it to me.

Amen.

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

A Christian Holiday for the Non-Believer

Over this past weekend, I had the joy of being up at Katoomba in the Blue Mountains to gather with Christians all over Australia to celebrate Easter. For many, Easter is just another holiday. A time to have a break from work or study,... Continue →